Have Fun, Be Safe on Area Lakes
|Photo credit: Gary A. Edwards|
Texas Parks and Wildlife provides boating regulations
and safety tips on the boating section of their site.
In addition to the basic information below, there
are specific guidelines for both anglers and hunters
on the site.
- State law requires a wearable-type life jacket
(Types I, II, or III) for each person on board.
Life jackets must be U.S. Coast Guard approved.
- Children under 13 years of age must wear a
life jacket on a Class A or Class 1 motorboat
- It is recommended that non-swimmers always
wear a life jacket on the water. In addition, a
Type IV throwable-type flotation device is
required on boats 16 feet in length and longer.
- State law prohibits intoxicated persons
(.08% BAC) from operating a boat.
- Check the weather and give a "float plan" to
a friend before departing.
- See the Texas Water Safety Digest for details
on specific required and recommended safety
equipment needed on various types of vessels.